Serenity Candles’ “Wax Melts” – Review.

My own Mother is probably going to read this blog post and laugh at me. This time last year, I detested the thoughts of cleaning. I avoided the activity at all costs because I knew that if I didn’t do it, Mam would – cleaning is one of her favourite hobbies. Fast forward a few months and now I’m spending my evenings dusting surfaces and hovering. You see, I moved into a new apartment with my other half and this place actually feels like home. No more room-renting in large houses with groups of strangers. I want our apartment to be clean and cosy at all times so that I can be proud when people pop over for a few hours. I know, I know – it does sound like I’m getting old.

Anyone who has followed Rouge Writing Hood for awhile will know that I’m obsessed primarily with skincare and make up but that I’m also really into fragrance. I often chat on Instagram Stories about my favourite perfumes and more recently, scented candles. I’ve spent a small fortune on candles over the past few months, trying to find a relatively affordable brand that’s really reliable for good quality products. After months of searching, I found my winner. If you haven’t already heard of the company, let me introduce you to Serenity Candles. Serenity is a home grown business, founded in 2017 by two lovely guys living in Northern Ireland. I’ve been following them on Instagram for a few months now and one of the things that I love most is their obvious passion for what they do. And, that passion is reflected in the quality of their beautiful products.

A few weeks ago, I placed my first order with Serenity and chose two scents; “Black Orchid” and “Pomegranate Noir”. These melts are inspired by two of my favourite perfumes and I expected them to smell similar – I had no idea that they would smell exactly the same. The wax melts were nothing short of divine.

For those of you who don’t know, a wax melt is a scented piece of wax, without a wick. They release intense fragrance when a piece is heated in a tea light candle or electric burner. The smell released is generally stronger than that of a scented candle and this is why I’ve recently become obsessed with them. I’ve tried a few different brands, including Yankee but nothing has matched the quality of the formula of Serenity.

First and foremost, the Serenity wax melts smell divine. In total, I’ve ordered four different scents for my home and my Mum has ordered six. My favourite is “Black Orchid” and her’s is “Lemongrass and Ginger” (she describes as a scent that you would find in a luxury spa). Secondly, the wax melts seem to retain their fragrance for longer than any other brands I’ve tried. I would get 3-4 evenings out of one cube of Serenity’s wax melts, whilst I would have to replace the Yankee offering every night or second night. That means I’m getting better value for money. Finally, these wax melts are easier to replace than others I’ve used. I just wait until the cube has melted, drop three small cotton pads into the liquid and wait for it to absorb. The Serenity wax melts don’t harden as quickly as other wax melts I’ve tried so any spills can be cleaned up without any hassle.

Obviously, wax melts aren’t the only products that Serenity sell on their website. For Mothers’ Day, I ordered two of their beautiful limited edition candles. A portion of the proceeds of these lovely candles was donated to breast cancer research charities, which made me admire the guys who set up the company even more.

Next on my wish list is some of their new bath bombs, which I will be purchasing as soon as I get paid. Again, it makes me feel old, but the beautifully fragranced products add to the cozy atmosphere in my apartment. I couldn’t be without them now

If you’re interested in the products, you can check them all out here. Let me know what you do think, if you have tried them or if you do make a purchase.

Rouge x

Leave a comment