Spring into Summer – The Everyday Make-Up Look

After posting this picture on Instagram a few weeks ago, I received a record amount of requests for a full blog post on the make-up look. During the summer, I tend to wear less and less make up – there’s nothing worse than sitting in the office at work, while your make up slides off your face and into a pool on the keyboard. It seems that lots of you feel the same way, and are looking for more information on the products that I reach for when I’m attempting to create this look.

My make up in the above image is really subtle, to create a “barely there” look. The image hasn’t been filtered or edited in any way so it should work as a pretty accurate guide. Here are the products and application techniques that I used:

 

Base:

 

Alpha-H “Daily Essential Moisturiser SPF 50+” (€32.95) – Available Here from Cloud10Beauty.com:

If you were watching my Insta-stories last week, you’ll know that I got sunburned at Body & Soul. It was cloudy all day, without any sign of sunshine and that goes to show that we REALLY should be wearing SPF every day. Usually, I’m really good at remembering to apply sunscreen and this product from Alpha-H is probably my favourite facial SPF. Every morning after cleansing, I apply a generous amount to my skin and allow it to sit for 5-10 mins before applying my make up. The formula is really lightweight and absorbs into the skin really quickly. I know that some people avoid using facial SPF products because they tend to leave a white residue on the skin, but this one definitely doesn’t – you won’t feel it on your face after about 10 mins. I think that this product would be suitable for all skin types.

Catrice “Prime and Fine Beautifying Primer” (€4.95) – Available Here from Meaghers Pharmacy:

This primer is a cheap as chips and it’s one of the best on the market. You can apply it to your entire face with or without foundation to create a radiant glow or, you can apply the formula to the high points of your face (cheek bones, cupid bow etc) and use it as a highlighter. I usually use it all over my face before applying foundation and then set with a powder. “Prime and Fine” creates the illusion of a good night’s sleep and holds your make up in place for the entire day.

Diego Dalla Palma “BB Cream 5-in-1” (€28.50) – Available Here from Diego Dalla Palma:

Alright, so I know that lots of people have mixed feelings when it comes to BB cream and to be honest, I’m one of them. I love the idea of a lightweight formula that provides minimal coverage, while evening out your skin tone but often, I find that BB Creams wear off the skin very quickly leaving a patchy effect. However, this product from Diego Dalla Palma is gorgeous. The formula applies really well and although it won’t last for the entire day, it wears off evenly and subtly. If you want more coverage after a few hours, you can simply top up at lunch time. Unfortunately, there are only 3 shades in the range so if you’re super pale or really tanned, you’ll probably struggle to find a match. In this photo, I’m wearing shade “50 Natural Beige” and although it’s a bit dark for my skin, I think it brightens up my complexion and gives me a healthy glow.

 

Eyes:

 

Too Faced “Brow Quickie” Brow Gel (€20) – Available Here from Debenhams:

Keeping in mind that I have “HD Brows”, maintained by Olivia in Allure Salon in Drumcondra, I tend to use very little brow product during the day. This brow gel from Too Faced is so easy to use. You simply comb the product through your eyebrows and the formula tints them and adds fibres to thicken them out slightly. The gel holds your eyebrows in place throughout the day and at €20, it lasts for ages so it’s a bargain.

Buxom “Lash Mascara” (€20) – Available Here from Debenhams:

Buxom is a new brand to Debenhams and I have to say that so far, I LOVE all of the products that I’ve tried. This mascara is simply divine. It’s a dark shade of black, separates all of my lashes and adds lots of length. If you love mascaras that create plenty of volume, this one probably isn’t for you but if like me, you love a natural look, Buxom’s “Lash Mascara” is a must-have. The formula isn’t waterproof but it’s really long-wearing and doesn’t clump or smudge at all. The mascara applies really smoothly so if you want to apply a few extra coats for added drama, you can coat the lashes evenly.

 

Cheeks and Lips:

 

Sleek Make Up “Blush” (€6.49) – Available Here from Boots.ie:

I’m always raving about this blush in the shade “Rose Gold” from Sleek. It’s an excellent dupe for Nars’ cult favourite “Orgasm” and at €6.49, it’s a fraction of the price. This blusher is highly pigmented and long-wearing so a little goes a long way. You’ll literally have this product for years before you need to replace it. There’s also a fleck of gold through the formula so it doubles up as a highlighter. I can’t get over the quality of this blush, at such a low price point.

Buxom “Big And Sexy Bold Gel Lipstick” (€18) – Available Here from Debenhams:

I’m going to write a full review post on this product because a few lines really can’t do it justice. The “Big and Sexy Bold Gel Lipstick” from Buxom has quickly become my favourite lipstick formula on the market. Yes, you read that right – my favourite. Anyone who reads Rouge Writing Hood regularly will probably have noticed that lipstick is my favourite kind of make up and this product is the best that I’ve tried. The shade that I’m wearing is “Rebel Rose” which is very like Tom Ford’s “India Rose”. The formula applies like a dream and just glides on to the lips. It’s really moisturising, even though it has a semi-matte finish and it’s basically all that any lipstick lover could ask for. If you could only treat yourself to one product from this post, I would tell you to choose this one!

 

And, there you have it – all of the products that I usually reach for to create a “barely there” make up look. I always set the products with a translucent powder and then I’m good to go.

What do you think? Do you prefer natural or dramatic make up looks? Let us know in the comment section or in the corresponding Instagram posts..

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

