Yves Saint Laurent “Volupté Tint-In-Balm” – Review

YSL Tint In Balm

When I published my Mothers’ Day Gift Guide a few weeks ago, lots of you asked for more information on the YSL “Tint-In-Balm” that I included in the post. It seems that the cold weather has left us with chapped lips and no desire to cover them with a matte lipstick, regardless of how “on trend” they are at the minute. YSL have acknowledged that it’s time for something new – women need a lip colour that they can apply without running to a mirror and a formula that is comfortable to wear and moisturises the lips, keeping them healthy. And, although I was seriously skeptical about a balm formula that promised to pack a serious punch of pigment, I have to admit that I was wrong. YSL’s “Tint-In-Balm” is amazing and has quickly become my favourite beauty release of 2017, so far.

 

 

VOLUPTE TINT-IN-BALM N°1 DREAM ME NUDE

After attending the launch of the “Tint-In-Balm” lip colours, I received a press sample in the shade “N° 1 Dream Me Nude” (pictured above). This is one of 12 new shades and it’s a gorgeous “pinky” nude colour. I’m pretty confident when I say that “Dream Me Nude” is a universal shade and would suit all complexions.

We can’t talk about these balms without talking about YSL’s gorgeous packaging. The packaging of the “Tint-In-Balm” is perfection. Every time that I take this one out of my handbag, ladies nearby swoon. So, if you’re a fan of fancy lipsticks, then your collection isn’t complete without this beauty. The tube is also very durable, so you won’t have any issue with the lid falling off, causing the formula to get mushed around your handbag – as is often the case with cheaper, budget-friendly lipsticks.

The formula of “Tint-In-Balm” is moisturising and smooth. I wouldn’t describe the finish that it gives as “glossy”, because it’s not sticky in the least, but the balm does give the lips a healthy sheen. The pigment in these balms is buildable and can be used to create a strong colour after a few swipes – especially with the berry and red shades in the collection. I’m also a huge fan of the shade “N° 8 Catch Me Orange”, pictured below.

 

The thing that I love most about the “Tint-In-Balm” product is that its application is effortless. I can apply this lip colour without a lip liner or a mirror and don’t have to worry about whether my lips look uneven or question whether I have lipstick on my teeth.

All in all, the YSL “Tint-In-Balm” receives an “A” grade from me. I think that this product is fantastic for women who want their make up to be both pretty and comfortable. And from now on, I will be reserving the matte lipsticks for evening and weekend wear.

 

img_8690

The “Tint-In-Balm” range is available exclusively from Brown Thomas and retails at a rather expensive €33. However, because this formula is unique and really impressive, I think that the high-end price can be justified. I’m planning to purchase the “Catch Me Orange” shade as soon as my next pay day rolls by.

What do you think? Could you justify the price? Or, do you know about a similar product that retails for less? Let us know in the comment section!

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

