IsaDora “Cover Up” Foundation – Review

I try to steer clear of full-coverage foundations, unless I’m getting ready for a big night out. More often than not, such products create a “mask effect” on the skin and although I know that lots of girls with problem skin rely on full-coverage foundations for a confidence boost, heavy products often irritate acne and wearing these products tends to worsen the problem in the long term.

So, when the IsaDora “Cover Up” foundation landed on my desk at work, I was pretty sure that it would be relegated to my “night time” make up collection. This formula is marketed as both a foundation and concealer and if I’m honest, that put me right off. So much so, that it actually stopped me even trying the foundation for a few weeks – I put it into my make up drawer and totally forgot about it. And, what an eejit I was!

isadora-cover-up-foundation-review

This foundation is a surprisingly creamy formula that wears like a second skin. Yes, the formula is definitely full coverage but, it doesn’t feel like it. After application, I just forget that I’m wearing it at all.

We can’t talk about this product without talking about the packaging. Say goodbye to clunky, heavy glass bottles and hello to this gorgeous, sleek and lightweight tube packaging. The black tube is “squeezy” which means that you won’t have any waste and therefore, get more bang for your buck. And, it’s really handbag friendly so this is definitely one that you can carry around with you when you’re on the go.

My Snapchat (UN: rougewriting) followers will already know that this foundation is very long-lasting. Before application, I always use a moisturising, illuminating primer and then buff the product on to the skin using my F20 Blank Canvas foundation brush. I’ve found that this is the best application method if you want your skin to look natural but if you want heavy coverage, I would recommend applying the product using a beauty blender. I wore this product to work for five days last week and on each day, the foundation lasted from 7am until bedtime, with just a little visible wear around the nose area. That’s great going! I also found that I didn’t need to top the formula up with powder throughout the day but I don’t have particularly oily skin so this isn’t unusual for me.

img_8554

The foundation is pictured above, directly after application. As you can see, my exhausted and dehydrated skin (I had just sat an exam that morning) has been blurred and concealed by the “Cover Up” foundation. I would say that I did need some extra under eye concealer along with the foundation to cover up my dark circles, so if you suffer with a dark under eye area, I don’t think this foundation will magically mask that for you. Pictured below, is the foundation after approx 5 – 6 hours wear at an event, in bright lighting. As you can see, the product wears very well and my blusher and highlighting powders clung to the formula, ensuring their longevity too.

img_8566

All in all, this foundation is getting a 5-star rating from me. I’ve been wearing it on a frequent basis and it hasn’t caused any blocked pores or skin problems. So, I think that “Cover Up” is a great option for anyone who has confidence issues when it comes to their skin. I would recommend that anyone with problem skin trade in their heavy duty MAC foundation for this IsaDora formula ASAP. And, if you need anymore persuading, just think of your pocket. This product retails around the €20 so it’s considerably cheaper than high end alternatives and although I won’t be giving up my beloved Armani “Luminous Silk”, I will be wearing this one just as often.

IsaDora is available in pharmacies nationwide.

Rouge x

5 thoughts on “IsaDora “Cover Up” Foundation – Review

Leave a Reply

