Dermalogica “Daily Defence” Range – Review.

sunshine-quote

It seems like over the past few weeks, everyone in Ireland has been fleeing the country in search of some sunshine. And, while I’m really delighted about the fact that autumnal colours and pumpkin spice lattes have made a comeback, I’m craving some warm weather myself. I’m not ready for winter, just yet.

Keeping that in mind, and responding to a few dozen requests for SPF recommendations, I thought that I would share my hero sunscreen products with you all. Now, as you probably already know, I spent my summer in NYC where the sheer humidity meant that I needed a lightweight SPF to protect me from the harmful rays, whilst also remaining non-sticky throughout the day. Luckily, Dermalogica had me sorted with two products: their “Solar Defence Booster SPF50” for my face and “Protection 50 Sport SPF50” for body.

Solar Defence Booster SPF50:

Dermalogica Solar Defence Booster Review.png

Okay, the first thing that I want to say here is that facial SPF is not just for the summer months. UVA and UVB are harmful to skin all year round and your skin is particularly sensitive to them if you’re using skincare products that include “Vitamin C” amongst their ingredients. However, I do understand that most SPF products are sticky on the face and don’t sit well below make up. Luckily for us, Dermalogica’s “Solar Defence Booster” is unlike other facial SPF formulas (that I have tried) and can be mixed with your regular moisturiser to create an even base for your foundation.

The product may seem a little on the expensive side, but you only need to add two or three drops from your 50ml bottle into your moisturiser on a daily basis so it should last you ages. Obviously, if you’re swimming, you will need to reapply to ensure maximum protection from the sun. I love this formula. It’s non-greasy, suitable for sensitive skin and most importantly, it works! Even on super pale, ginger girls.

“Protection 50 Sport SPF50”:

demalogica-sport-50-spf-50

This is a gorgeous, light SPF that can be used on both face and body (this could save you a few euro if you don’t want to buy two separate products). I brought three types of body sunscreen to NYC and this was, by far, my favourite. It was the only formula of the three that absorbed into the skin within ten minutes and didn’t leave me feeling sticky throughout the day. This one is ideal for visits to the beach because it won’t leave you feeling as though you’re a walking magnet for sand so you won’t end up taking most of the beach home with you!

Again, this product needs to be reapplied after swimming but I can definitely vouch for it’s effectiveness because one day I forgot to apply it to my upper back. The rest of my body remained burn-free but, the unprotected areas are still sporting an unsightly “farmers’ tan”. I looked like a walking advertisement for Red Lobster. Ooops!

If you want more information on the “Daylight Defence” range from Dermalogica, you can visit their website here. Their products are available in salons nationwide.

Now, I’m off to Croatia in a few weeks and praying that we will see a little sunshine while we’re over there so these products will definitely be stashed into my suitcase. I anyone has been to Dubrovnik and has any tips on what to do while we’re there, please let me know in the comment section.

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

