theBalm “Balm Voyage” Palette – My Travel Essential.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel, read only one page.” – St. Augustine.

If you’ve been following me on social media, you will already know that I spent the past few weeks in New York City. Countless selfies later, many of you have been asking me to post about my make up travel essentials. I will put a full post together over the coming weeks but first, I wanted to tell you all about the “Balm Voyage” travel palette from theBalm. This is the only make up palette that I brought on my trip and I used it every single day.

TheBalm Balm Voyage

 

This gorgeous palette includes nine eyeshadows, two blushers, a bronzer, a highlighter and two cream lip and cheek tints – everything you need for travelling. Aside from some brushes, foundation, setting spray, translucent powder and a few extra lipsticks, this palette is all that I packed in my cosmetics bag for my trip to NYC.

The eyeshadows are super pigmented, with a velvet-like consistency. The shadows can be used wet or dry which is really handy because the “Fáilte” shadow can be dampened and used as an eyeliner. I ended up using these shadows daily, not only on my own eyes but also on my friends’ – she loved this palette too!

The bronzer in the palette has a matte finish so it can be paired with the highlighter for some simple contouring. Ordinarily, I prefer to use liquid products for contouring but, I found that these powder formulas worked much better in the NYC humidity. The highlighter is particularly gorgeous. In fact, I’ve almost hit the pan of that one – it may be time to purchase a full sized version. I just used a simple sculpting brush to apply, which I accidentally left in NY, along with the rest of my brushes, goddamn it!

The powder blushers are as pigmented as the eyeshadows and a little goes a long way. I particularly love the “Huan Ying” shade which is a lovely peach colour – perfect for Irish complexions.

The cheek and lip tints were soft and although pigmented, were very easy to blend. Again, a little goes a long way so be careful with these ones. Two tiny dots on the cheekbones can be blended to create a dewy, natural look. I fell head over heels in love with the “Vitajte” shade which I used as a lip colour almost every single day. This is the shade that I’m wearing (a very light layer) in the picture below:

In the picture above, I’m wearing nothing but my regular foundation and theBalm’s “Balm Voyage”. This is a day-time look but  it was very easy to create night-time looks with the palette too.

I got my “Balm Voyage” palette from Debenhams and it is available here or in stockists nationwide. It’s actually an absolute bargain at €40 – remember, this is the only palette that you’ll need in your collection, even if you’re lusting after every palette on the market.

What do you think? Do you have a specific make up palette that you take on holidays with you? Let us know in the comment section!

Rouge x

3 thoughts on “theBalm “Balm Voyage” Palette – My Travel Essential.

  1. Pingback: Debenhams Discount (10% Off) – My Top 5 Picks. | Rouge Writing Hood

Leave a Reply

