IsaDora – The Spring Collection.

For me, IsaDora has always been one of those cosmetic brands that I’m familiar with because I pass by their products in pharmacies or department stores but, have never really stopped to take a second look at. The brand seem to be positioned along the fine line which separates “high-end” and “drugstore” cosmetics – meaning that while they’re much more affordable than brands like Dior and Chanel, they’re not dirt cheap like brands such as Catrice or Flormar. So, when I was kindly sent some samples from the IsaDora Spring 2016 collection, I had no idea what to expect.

The new collection is inspired by the French and Italian Riviera, aiming to capture a burst of sunshine through the use of soft, pretty pastel colours. After a winter filled with bold colours and strong glitter, I have to say that this collection is like a breath of fresh air.

IsaDora “Velvet Matt Nails” (€8.25):

Isa Dora Nail polish

The brand have introduced 6 matte-satin shades to their nail polish collection; the formula of which promises to deliver a velvet finish. I have been putting the shade “Bohemian” through its paces for the past two weeks and I have to say, I am delightfully surprised by the product. It’s not a shade that I ever would have picked up from a cosmetic counter because it does look a bit “wishy-washy” in the bottle. However, upon swatching I fell deeply, madly in love. The wide brush and smooth texture allow for easy application – just two coats and your nails will look fabulous. Careful to avoid using a base or top coat though, or the matte effect will be ruined.

IsaDora “Twin Tip Eyeliner” (€13.75):

isa dora liner

How I wish that I had discovered a product like this one in my early teens! It took me years to master the art of liquid eyeliner application and this would have simplified the task to no end. The product can be rotated to create thin or thick lines making it easy to create an even look. It did take me a practice run or two before I mastered the pen (possibly due to the fact that I usually apply eyeliner with a brush), but once I did, I found myself reaching for it every morning. It doesn’t allow the same freedom to create feline flicks offered by a very fine liner brush but, it’s faster to apply than my regular liquid product and the colour intensity can be altered by pressing lightly or heavily against the skin. I would definitely recommend this one to those of you who struggle with creating even liner looks.

Overall, I’m really impressed with the products on offer from the IsaDora Rivera Spring Collection. And, I’m pretty sure that next time I pass an IsaDora make up counter, I will be stopping for a second look – and to pick up a few treats.

All products will be available in pharmacies and department stores nationwide from March 2016. Will you be popping out to purchase anything? I’m dying to try the “Velvet Matt Lips” formula next!

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

