Avenue by Nick Munier – Foodie Review.

Nick Munier is a top class chef, best known for appearing on TV shows such as Hell’s Kitchen and MasterChef Ireland so when I heard that he had launched a new eatery, I couldn’t wait to visit. Last week, I took a trip to Dublin’s newest hotspot ‘Avenue by Nick Munier’. Located in Temple Bar, the property contains two restaurants – “Eclair de Luxe” which is a casual all-day dining area and “Munier at Avenue” which provides a more high-end, opulent experience. My mother and I chose to treat ourselves and dined in “Munier at Avenue”.

While speaking about the interior design of the restaurant, Nick described how he desired to create an atmosphere of relaxed luxury, similar to that experienced on a yacht. I can vouch for the fact that the establishment is far removed from the hustle and bustle of Temple Bar. With an element of Parisian chic, we were transported to another world filled with culinary delights. Skipping the starters, we relaxed in the ‘marine’ themed space, with delicious cocktails in hand.

So, what did we think of the food? As a main course, I sampled the ‘Grilled Lobster’ which was served with garlic and herb butter, saffron aioli and fries. The lobster was one of the best I have tried in Dublin. Sweet and succulent, it retained a ‘melt in mouth’ consistency- I will definitely be back for this dish. The ‘skinny’ fries weren’t anything out of the ordinary but, they provided the perfect light accompaniment to the lobster meat.

  

My mother opted to try the ‘Seared Hake Fillet’ accompanied by cauliflower, shrimp, asparagus and Sauternes sauce. She was delighted with the dish, explaining it to be flavorsome and juicy with the sauce complimenting it perfectly. One of the best cooks I know, she is a very tough food critic to please so congratulations to Nick and the team.

  

As many of you will know, I do have an eternal sweet tooth so I couldn’t wait to try the dessert named ‘Another Fine Mess’ which has been trending all over social media. A delightful combination of raspberry jelly, ice-cream and meringue, this dish is a feast for the senses. It looks great and tastes even better. This dessert provides perfect contrast between the sweetness of the meringue and the sharp flavor of raspberry – heavenly. I suspect that those fond of pavlova and Eton mess will return to ‘Avenue’ for this dish time and time again.

  

For more information on ‘Avenue by Nick Munier’ and a sneak peek at the menus, have a look here. If you visit on my recommendation, let me know – I would love to hear about your experience.

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

