A Wink is Worth a Thousand Words.

As all my readers will already know, I’m a huge fan of bright lipstick. This means that I usually steer clear of ‘dark’ eye make-up, instead opting for shimmery nudes, subtle brown liner and lashings of mascara. However, recently I’ve found myself caught up in the Kardashian media hype and intrigued by the sisters’ smokey eyes and neutral lips. The question is – can this look be achieved with minimal effort? And, can it be adapted to suit even the most pale ginja ninjas?

I enlisted the help of Charlotte Tilbury, Giorgio Armani and Maybelline for this make-up experiment – combining luxury and bargain beauty products.

IMG_2637[1]

1) After applying primer, I used the bronzing powder in Charlotte Tilbury’s ‘Filmstar Bronze & Glow’ face sculpting palette all over the eyelid and below the lower lash line. I also use this powder for contouring on a regular basis and love the fact that it is multi-functional. You can read my full review here: https://rougewritinghood.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/follow-the-hollow/ .

2) I then applied Giorgio Armani’s ‘Eyes to Kill’ shadow in shade ‘4’ to the crease of the lid and blended it in. This shadow is a beautiful bronze with flecks of rustic red throughout, making it the perfect smokey shade for pale skinned beauties. It is available for €32.00 in Brown Thomas stores or online at: http://www.brownthomas.com/eyes/eyes-to-kill-solo/invt/140x2161xl4620900 .

3) I lined my eyes with Maybelline’s ‘Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner’. Gel liner is great for those of you who aren’t comfortable applying liquid liner. It allows the user more control while creating the perfect feline flick on the lids. I used this liner with a generic liner brush and applied across the top lid slowly (balance your arm on a steady surface to avoid shaking). I also used it to line my lower lid (just hug brush closely to lower lashes for subtle effect). This bargain gel formula lasts all day without fall-out and is available in Boots at €11.99: http://www.boots.ie/en/Maybelline-Eye-Studio-Lasting-Drama-Gel-Liner_1190781/ .

4) Apply a double-coat of your favourite mascara for maximum smoked up impact.

Result:

IMG_2640[1]

IMG_2642[1]

What do you think of this look?

Rouge x

Leave a Reply

