The Four Step Hangover Cure.

Easter weekend is almost over and my god, has it taken a toll on my face. A few mojitos have resulted in a dehydrated, dull appearance that would render me a pretty good option for a casting in ‘The Walking Dead’. However, life goes on and I do have to leave the house without scaring little children everywhere.

After a night out on the town, your skin feels the effects of dehydration caused by alcohol consumption so if you’ve over done it, start with a few glasses of water. Next, apply a thick moisturiser and allow it to absorb (I’ll post about my favourite later on).

Then, to the product list. I like to use as little product as possible on delicate skin so skip the heavy base and dig out a good concealer. My choice is Benefit’s ‘Boi-ing’ in the shade ‘Light’ (€24). It’s advertised as an industrial strength concealer and lives up to this promise by banishing dark circles and blemishes.

Next up – lashes. A good mascara will give a bright-eyed appearance. I tend to use Gosh’s ‘Darling Lashes Mascara’ which retails at around €10 in pharmacies nationwide – I got mine as part of a cute set at Cara Pharmacy. This mascara isn’t too obvious as I’m going for a casual daytime look but does add a lovely bit of length:

Before

After

Almost there now and all we need is a pop of blusher and lipstick to finish. This beautiful Sleek blusher in ‘Rose Gold’ (€5.49) is available at Boots on a 3 for 2 offer as this post is published. It’s very like Nar’s cult blush ‘Orgasm’ at a much cheaper price.

Finally, on a hangover day – a bright lipstick is essential to illuminate the face. I’ve recently purchased Mac’s ‘Crosswires’ (€19.50) which is a beautiful ginger-friendly pink in a cream, hydrating formula. It doesn’t feather or move so I haven’t even used a liner.

The final look should appear a little like this:

Which is considerably better than this morning!

Rouge x

4 thoughts on “The Four Step Hangover Cure.

Leave a Reply

